Madison County Missouri Government

Madison County Commission

Robert “Bob” Mooney, Presiding Commissioner
Tom Stephens, First District
Larry Kemp, Second District
Donal E. Firebaugh, Clerk of the County Commission

The County Commission is the governing body of Madison County and is composed of three County Commissioners. The Presiding Commissioner is elected at-large for a four-year term and presides over the regular weekly meetings of the Commission. The two Associate Commissioners are elected from each of their respective districts for a four-year term, the district being divided by townships with each district being nearly equal in population as practicable and being of contiguous territory.

The County Clerk maintains permanent record of proceedings of the County Commission (formerly County Court) and the records date back to 1821. They are maintained in the Courthouse archives.

The Madison County Commission meets every Monday (except state holidays) at 9:00 A.M. in the County Commissioner’s meeting room on the lower level of the Courthouse. Anyone wishing to appear on the agenda should call the Madison County Clerk’s office at 573-783-2176 to be placed on the meeting agenda.

Contact Information

Madison County Commission
#1 Courthouse Square
Fredericktown, MO 63645

Phone # (573) 783-2176 x 5
Fax (573) 783-5351

1 Court Square
Fredericktown, MO 63645
573-783-3410 Prompt 5
FAX: 573-783-5351

Sheriff's Department 9-1-1

E-911 Department

Road and Bridge Department